Uprising

Who do you pray salvation for

A loved one

Your spouse

Your children

A friend or co-worker

everyone?

Whenever I am asked to pray for God to work in someone’s life I always think of my mom. She is an addict. She has been for the majority of my life. There is a lot of history between us and I have a tendency not to see her as Christ does. And maybe that is it, the answer to why so few of the people we pray for find grace.  How would she know the love of Christ if her oldest child can’t always find the words of forgiveness and love?

I got this text today: “I am out of the hospital today. I am now certified Crazy (LOL)! I need my family I Love you all. Please read Psalms 86 Mom”

So, I did. I read Psalm 86. And you know what I realized: my mom, your friends and family and our world need us to have an undivided heart. A heart that agrees with His love, His mercy, His grace and not our own.

Psalm 86:11

Teach me your way, O LORD,
and I will walk in your truth;
give me an undivided heart,
that I may fear your name.

So, while I spend my time praying for God to save my mother from her addictions and her illnesses I will pray that my heart never be divided from His truth. And the same uprising I pray for unbelievers, I will pray the same Spirit consume me to love and forgive with all of the compassion that comes in response to the mercy I have been shown.

2 thoughts on “Uprising

  1. I think that seeing family members through the eyes of Jesus is perhaps the most difficult. So many dynamics are in play. I earnestly pray to have the mind and heart of Christ towards others, particularly with respect to family, so that He might win the victory in all our hearts and be glorified beyond measure. More of Him…less of me.

Leave a Reply

